The EIRMA Governing Board is composed of elected representatives from among member companies’ Representatives and Alternates.

Board members serve two year terms of office, with the possibility for re-election.

(Read more about the previous EIRMA Presidents)

Governing Board Members

The current Governing Board was elected at the General Assembly held in Gothenburg in May 2019:

PresidentDr Ernst LutzNV Bekaert SAChief Technology & Innovation Officer 
Past PresidentDr Carlos HärtelClimeworksCTOGermany
Honorary PresidentDr Léopold DemiddeleerTechBridgeOne S.P.R.LOwnerBelgium
Vice PresidentDaniel WitthautEvonik Industries AGHead of Corporate Innovation StrategyGermany
MemberMs Gabriele DobeneckerEmpaEntrepreneurship & Industry RelationsSwitzerland
MemberMr Michael GudeUnileverGlobal Vice President Foods R&DNetherlands
MemberOlivier LetessierAir LiquideR&D VPFrance


The EIRMA Programme Planning Committee (PPC) is responsible for establishing the programme of activities, which currently consists of approximately 12 events per year .

The PPC is composed of EIRMA experienced members with a strong understanding of Industrial R&D and Innovation:

Programme Planning Committee Members

MemberMr Henri ChevrelAir LiquideVP R&D Europe ZoneFrance
MemberNicolas De AbajoArcelorMittalHead of ArcelorMittal Global R&D CentresSpain
MemberNicolas DubucMichelinFellow for Technology Intelligence and Knowledge ManagementFrance
MemberWerner FröhlingFlooring Technologies LtdManaging Director and Chief IP CounselMalta
MemberBernd KorvesSiemensHead of Visioning and ScoutingGermany
MemberNorbert Luetke-EntrupSiemensHead of Technology and Innovation Management, Corporate TechnologyGermany
MemberJosé Enrique RománBoeingManaging DirectorSpain
MemberAlejandro SanzIndependentIndependentNetherlands
MemberMonica SchofieldTuTech Innovation GmbhDirector International Cooperation & EU OfficeGermany