2015 European CTOs of the Year

The winners and the jury members. From left to right: Carlos Härtel (EIRMA President), Pekka Koponen (Spinverse Oy), Jonathan O'Halloran (QuantuMDx); Marcel Wubbolts (Royal DSM), Martin Curley (Intel Corporation), Gabrielle Dobenecker (Empa), Léopold Demiddeleer (EIRMA Honorary President).

2015 European CTOs of the Year

The second edition of the CTOs of the Year Europe was launched in 2015 during the EIRMA Annual Conference in Luxembourg.

The press release of the competition launch can be found here .

On October 15th 2015, Martin Curley (Intel), Jonathan O’Halloran (QuantuMDX) and Marcel Wubbolts (Royal DSM) have been nominated European Chief Technology Officers (CTO) of the Year during the 2015 CTO award ceremony at

SKF research center in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

Martin Curley and Marcel Wubbolts are the large company nominees, while Jonathan O’Halloran is the SME one.

Here their reaction to the nomination:

Martin Curley, Intel: “I am very honoured to receive this recognition. Innovation is a team sport and I am privileged to be the captain of the Intel Labs Europe team and accept the award on behalf of the outstanding researchers and innovators across the Intel Labs Europe network. Working together with the broader European Innovation ecosystem we are using technology to help create a better Europe, strengthening the economy and improving quality of life. Congratulations to the other two winners Dr Marcel Wubbolts and Jonathan O’Halloran and thanks to Eirma and Spinverse for establishing this award to recognize the importance of technology and innovation in Europe ”

Marcel Wubbolts, DSM: “This is a great honor and I feel it is great recognition for the Bright Science community at DSM. DSM is a life and materials sciences company with a unique vision that bright science enables a more sustainable world for today and generations to come. That’s something I’ve always believed very strongly in myself. If DSM’s achievements under my leadership have demonstrated the importance of innovation for Europe’s future, it’s because I had the good fortune to be part of the right company at the right time. Our efforts have also received valuable support in some great partnerships – we definitely can’t achieve our goals alone.”

Jonathan O’Halloran, QuantuMDX: “It is thrilling to have been named as the European CTO of the Year award, 2015 (SME). It is truly an honour and extremely gratifying to have been given the award by my peers, as they all understand the hours of dedication and unflinching belief in a vision needed to succeed as a CTO. The fact that this award exists at all is the result of the outstanding vision of EIRMA and Spinverse in recognising the need to celebrate CTO’s and what we bring to the tech business.“

The CTO award 2015 was launched during EIRMA Annual Conference in April 2015. A jury of 6 seasoned innovation managers selected these three winners in a panel of 24 high level candidates.